According to Facebook FAQ, deactivate Facebook account will render user’s profile and all information associated with it immediately inaccessible to other Facebook users. In other words, the account is effectively disappear from the Facebook service. However, the Facebook account is not been purged from Facebook’s servers. Instead, the profile information (friends, photos, interests, etc.) is saved, so that the account can be recovered and reactivated in future with the information intact if the user decides to do so, or regret on the deactivation decision.
To delete a Facebook account, log in to the Facebook account, and then submit the “Delete My Account” at https://ssl.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account.
Click on Submit button. Enter the password to confirm it’s your account, and the captcha security spam check. Then click on Okay button. An email will be sent to indicate that the Facebook account will be deleted in 14 days.
During the 14 days account deletion grace period, do not login or sign in to Facebook account, nor perform any action utilizing Facebook, such as Share on Facebook on Like in Facebook, or login and sign up to other websites by using Facebook Connect (Facebook user name and password credentials). Any interaction and usage of the Facebook account during the period will prevent the account from being deleted.
Alternative Method to Delete Facebook Account:
If the above official method to delete the Facebook account fails, it’s also possible to email Facebook to request them to delete your Facebook account directly. The email address is:
Within a few days (allows up to a week), an email response should be sent by Facebook to confirm that the account has been permanently deleted.
If there is no response from Facebook, and you can still access your Facebook account or given an option to reactivate the account, try email Facebook again, with the following three email addresses:
The Facebook account is permanently deleted when user cannot login to the account anymore, and there is not message which offers user a chance to reactivate the Facebook account.